

Appendix C - Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Canberra (Public Hearing) Tuesday 3 April 2007

Security Legislation Review Committee

The Hon Simon Sheller AO QC, Chairman

Mr Ian Carnell, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Gilbert+Tobin Centre of Public Law

Professor George Williams, Centre Director

Dr Andrew Lynch, Director - Terrorism Law Project

Ms Edwina MacDonald, Senior Research Officer

Refugee Council of Australia

Mr John A. Gibson, President

Australian Muslim Civil Rights Advocacy Network

Dr Mohamed Kadous, Co-convenor

Ms Agnes Chong, Co-convenor

Canberra (Public Hearing) Wednesday 4 April 2007

Law Council of Australia

Mr Peter Webb, Secretary-General Ms Helen Donovan, Policy Lawyer

Associate Professor Russell Hogg

Dr Patrick Emerton

Australian-Tamil Rights Advocacy Council

Mr Pratheepan Balasubramanian, Committee Member and Spokesman

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr John von Doussa AO QC, President

Ms Frances Simmons, Associate to the President

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Vincent McMahon, First Assistant Secretary - Border Security Division Mr Karl Higgins, Director - National Security and Counter Terrorism Branch

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoff McDonald, Assistant Secretary – Security Law Branch Ms Kirsten Kobus, Principal Legal Officer – Security Law Branch

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Deputy Director-General

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Perry Head, Assistant Secretary - Counter Terrorism Branch

Ms Alison Duncan, Executive Officer - Counter Terrorism Policy Section

Mr Justin Whyatt, Executive Officer – International Law and Transnational Crime Section